Australia’s Victoria has declared a state of disaster in an effort to contain the spike in coronavirus cases as it reported 671 new infections on Sunday.

On Saturday, the state reported 397 new COVID-19 cases. Two weeks ago, areas of Sydney were declared coronavirus outbreak hotspots.

On Sunday, Victoria premier Daniel Andrews also announced a night-time curfew in Melbourne and new movement restrictions for its residents. The curfew will be imposed daily from 8pm to 5am the next day.

See also  Ukrainian government, rebels reach new ceasefire deal

Melbourne is already under a reimposed six-week stay-home order. Its residents will not be allowed to travel beyond five kilometres from their residence, and only one person per household will be allowed to shop for groceries once a day.

Australia has so far recorded some 17,300 coronavirus cases and 200 COVID-19 deaths.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here