, Ireportnews

, Ireportnews

Germany has rejected a proposal by US president Donald Trump to invite Russia’s president Vladimir Putin back into the G7, Germany’s foreign minister Heiko Maas said Monday.

The group of the world’s major industrialized countries is currently composed of the US, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

Five years ago, Russia was excluded from the then-G8 over its annexation of Ukraine’s Crimea region. It is still part of the G20, a broader grouping including other emerging-market economies.

Last month, Trump said he would postpone the G7 summit until September or later and expand the list of invitees to include Australia, Russia, South Korea and India. Canada and the United Kingdom have already rejected the idea. Decisions on G7 membership are subject to the unanimous backing of all members.

“G7 and G20 are two sensibly coordinated formats. We don’t need G11 or G12 anymore,” Maas said in reference to Trump’s proposal to invite other countries to the G7.

He added that Russia itself could make the biggest contribution to becoming part of the G7 format again by contributing to a peaceful solution in the Ukraine conflict.

“But we also know that we need Russia to solve conflicts such as those in Syria, Libya and Ukraine. That will not work against Russia, but only with Russia. But Russia also has to make its contribution, which is very slow in Ukraine”, he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here