Nigeria Has Released Its Final 28-Man Squad For AFCON 2021

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have named their final 28-man squad for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations, according to head coach Augustine Eguaevon.

This was confirmed by the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) in a Facebook post.
Eguavoen, who led the Super Eagles to third place in Egypt 15 years ago, has named four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and ten forwards to compete for Nigeria’s fourth diadem in Cameroon.

The African Cup of Nations will begin on January 9th in Cameroon, with Captain Ahmed Musa, midfield enforcer Wilfred Ndidi, and effervescent forward Victor Osimhen all making the squad.

Former U17 World Cup captain Kelechi Nwakali, forward Emmanuel Dennis, and 2016 Olympics star Sadiq Umar have all returned to the squad.

The three-time champions will compete against seven-time and record winners Egypt, Sudan, and debutants Guinea Bissau, with the event taking place in the northern town of Garoua.

On Tuesday, November 11, the Eagles will face Egypt in the group’s first game.

READ ALSO: AFCON: Super Eagles To Open Camp In Abuja

Except for those based in the United Kingdom, all invited players are expected to report to camp in Nigeria’s federal capital, Abuja, on December 29th.

The first UK-based players are expected to arrive on Monday, January 3rd.

Full Squad list:


Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)


Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

See also  Giants And Dodgers Players Take A Knee During National Anthem


Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)


Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

Leave a Comment